New Laws and Changes to Provisional Driver License Restrictions
Teen Laws – Under 18
After receiving your license, for the FIRST YEAR:
- No passengers under the age of 20 unless someone age 25 or older is in the car with a valid California Driver License.
- No driving between 11pm and 5am, unless there is someone age 25 or older is in the car with a valid California Driver License.
- For other exceptions, please click on CA DMV handbook or other CA DMV Provisional License Information
It is against the law for a minor to use a cell phone while driving. A person who is under 18 years of age is prohibited from using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text–based communication while driving, even if it is equipped with a hands–free device.
Smoking in a Vehicle
It is illegal to smoke in a vehicle with minor passengers (pipe, cigar, or cigarette)
Requirements for Permit- Under 18
- Be at least 15 1/2, but under 18 years of age
- Complete Driver’s Education
- Pass the written Permit test at the DMV
Requirements for License- Under 18
- Be at least 16 years old
- Must have your permit for a minimum of 6 months
- Complete 6-hours of Driver’s Training (behind-the-wheel) course
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving with an adult 25 years of age or older (10 of these hours at night)
- Pass the DMV Drive Test
Agree or Disagree with the California Driving Laws?