Step 1 – Driver Education

College Student Studying in LibraryYour first step: Take and complete Drivers Education.  You can start the Drivers Education class at age 15 but will need to be 15 ½ in order to get your driving permit.

You may take an online class or a classroom Drivers Education course.  You’ll have to determine what is best for you or your teenager.  How do you choose?

Driver education online, anywhere, anytime. Our driver education online course meets the California teen driver education requirements.

Each course consists of short comprehensive and easy to read subjects. Small doses of information help you to learn and better retain the laws and rules of the road.

Take a look by clicking here.

After you have passed the practice exams and the final exam, you will receive your certificate of completion in the mail.

The classroom course includes videos, short lectures and guest speakers from California Highway Patrol, Morgan Hill Police Department and new speakers each month.

Class discussions and practice tests are an important part of the learning process and your certificate of completion is handed to you on the last day of class.

Whichever course you choose, we provide all of the tools and skills necessary to ensure your teenager passes the very first time!

Next Step – After completion of Drivers Education, pass the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Written and Vision Test.

 

Must be 18 years old to drive?

18 Years Old to Drive

The start of the new year can typically bring with it a host of new safety and traffic laws.

Each year we here at Roadrunner Driving School begin receiving phone calls from students and parents concerned that the minimum driving age has increased to 18 years old before they can get a license of any kind.  Matter of fact, I remember this same rumor going around many years ago when I attended Live Oak High School myself. The answer:

There is no law being contemplated or on the books at this point in time.

Robert Stahl, President of the Driving School Association of California, can assure you we have a paid lobbyist in Sacramento and no law has been proposed or is considered at this point in time.

Generally the public gets what it wants in California, and most parents want their kids driving at 16 if they wish, and the reason in most cases is, the parents are happy to not be tied to driving the kids everywhere and welcome the family help.

Actually raising the age to 18 years old although it sounds good in theory it really is not for those who understand the problem. At 16 years old a teen getting a license will be under parental supervision for at least 2 years of driving, gaining hopefully some valuable experience and maturity. At age 18, teens are not often at home and are off to College and learning without parental supervision or training requirements. This puts a young driver out on the road without supervision or guidance.

The sad truth is that the statistics have been going up on the 18 and 19 year olds in fatal or serious accidents as the stats have been dropping on the 16 year olds that are getting trained. The reason is because after 18 there are no mandatory training requirements and youngsters have been waiting until they can turn 18 to avoid paying for training and have the stiffer driving requirements imposed on them.

Many insurance companies now offer a discount to students over 18 if they show proof of Driver Education and/or Driver Training.  This helps to ensure they know the rules of the road and can demonstrate them during the practical exam.

While the State of California does not require anyone over the age of 18 to complete these courses, Roadrunner Driving School recommends that anyone preparing to get their license complete these courses for the sake of all drivers out on the road.

As you drive into 2014, be aware of changes in your state, surrounding areas and the impact it could make on how you drive.  Beep Beep!

How old were you when you started driving?

Why Start Smart for Your Teenager?

CHP Start SmartWe are honored to offer the California Highway Patrol (CHP) Start Smart program to students during our Drivers Education classroom program.  Officer Kellogg from the CHP is a regular face in our Driver Education classroom to present this program.

The California Highway Patrol’s Start Smart program is a driver safety education class which targets new and future licensed teenage drivers between the ages of 15 through 19.  The CHP also offers this program to parents and guardians of new drivers

The California Highway Patrol Community Outreach & Media Relations tries to get our accident and fatality rate down.  Start Smart is one of the programs designed to help promote safety and communication between the California residents and the CHP.

Did you know Teen drivers are found at fault in 66% of ALL FATAL collisions that they are involved in, although they only represent 4% of the state’s licensed drivers? 

CHP officers like Officer Kellogg discuss traffic collision avoidance techniques, collision causing factors, driver/parent responsibilities, and seatbelt usage during Driver Education.  Additionally, testimonies are provided by officers who have investigated fatal collisions involving teens, and by family members who have lost love ones in traffic collisions.

This program is offered through the CHP in your area and has been a huge impact on the community.  This course is included in Roadrunners regular curriculum at no additional charge to you.

Don’t miss this opportunity for your new driver to listen to CHP Officer Kellogg as he talks about real life situations here in the area!

Give your teenager the best driving experience through their journey as a responsible licensed driver – Enroll them today!

 

Be the example – How will You take an active role in your new driver’s learning?

Selecting a Driving School

 

Preparing your Teenager for Driver Education and Driver Training

New Drivers

Teenage drivers get more tickets, are hurt and killed in greater numbers than other drivers. The DMV encourages parents to provide their teenagers with as much training and practice as outlined in the California DMV Parent-Teen Training Guide.

California law requires a person under the age of 18 to complete the following driver education and driver training courses:

  • 25 hours of classroom instruction, or home study or Internet training program (must be equivalent to classroom instruction requirements).
  • 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel training.
  • 50 hours of supervised driving practice that includes 10 hours of driving during darkness.

What to ask when looking for the right California driving school -

Do driving schools provide videos or movies as part of the driver education curriculum? 

Yes.  we must provide at least 100 minutes of actual viewing time. The videos or movies must relate to the driver education program and may contain graphic scenes of traffic accidents.

How long does it take to complete a driver education (classroom) program? 

Your teenager must take a minimum of 25 hours of classroom training.  The time it takes to complete a driver education program depends on the number of hours your teenager attends the class or spends studying the educational material.  Review our classroom schedule for details.

How long does it take to complete a driver education (online) program? 

This is a thirty (30) hour virtual classroom course on driver education designed for the State of California and approved by the California DMV.   The time it takes to complete a driver education program depends on the number of hours your teenager attends the class or spends studying the educational material.

How long does it take to complete Behind-The-Wheel-Training – Driver Training? 

Your teenager must complete six hours of actual behind-the-wheel (controlling the vehicle) training that does not exceed two hours per day. Observation time does not count toward the six hours of required training time.  

The law does not specify the time period between training sessions.  The time period between training sessions should allow enough time for practicing with your teenager.   Here at Roadrunner we have a general schedule and suggest students do not allow more than 7-10 days between lessons.

Is more than one student allowed in the vehicle during a behind-the-wheel training session? 

Although it is allowed by the DMV we at Roadrunner do not allow more the one student training at a time.  If you request 2 students train together, the student who is actually behind-the-wheel and controlling the vehicle is the one who receives training credit.

Can I request a male or female instructor? 

Yes, we always try to satisfy your request.

May I ride along with my teenager during behind-the-wheel training sessions? 

We find new drivers focus better without the pressure and expectation of a parent in the car.  Although there is no law that prohibits a parent from riding along with his/her teenager, we do not allow a parent ride-along for the benefit of the student.

Does the driving school have a specific route to follow during the behind-the-wheel training sessions? 

Our general schedule is as follows:

Day 1: Morgan Hill/San Martin/Gilroy: Back roads, turns, intersections, lane changes

Day 2: San Jose or Hollister (no freeway), one-way streets & congestion

Day 3:  Freeway driving, merging, lane changes, parallel parking and backing up.

Are the instructors allowed to take breaks or do personal business during behind-the-wheel training sessions? 

No. Behind-the-wheel training time is used for instruction only.

May I request specific drop-off or pick-up locations for the training sessions? 

Yes, we offer free after-school pick-up for Behind-the-wheel sessions from the following schools:

  • Live Oak High School
  • Sobrato High School
  • Oakwood Country School
  • Central High School

There are additional charges for home Pick up and/or Drop Off> see fees

What type of vehicle will the driving school use for training? 

Roadrunner Driving Instructors use 2012 Ford Focus (2), late model Acura Integra (2), Mitsubishi Lancer, & Chevrolet Cavalier. The vehicles are equipped with dual controls; an instructor foot brake, and an additional rear view mirror. All training cars are automatic transmission. “Student Driver” stickers on rear of vehicles.

Driving schools do not have to use a certain type of vehicle.

Do the training vehicles undergo a safety inspection? 

All behind-the-wheel training vehicles must undergo a yearly inspection. The inspection helps to ensure that the vehicle is in safe and proper mechanical condition.

Are the training vehicles insured? 

Yes. We must maintain required bodily injury and property damage liability insurance on all training vehicles.

 

Was this information useful? Please tell us below